/Julia Landon District Champs Scholar Bowl!

Julia Landon District Champs Scholar Bowl!

Julia Landon College PrepScholar Bowl is a question-and-answer academic challenge played by teams of seventh and eighth grade school students. This season, thirty schools from the local area sought to dethrone defending champion Julia Landon College Preparatory and Leadership Development School to earn bragging rights as the Scholar Bowl District Champion 2010-2011.

Julia Landon dominated the central division during the academic school year rising to the district titleholders for the third straight year. The Lions were 4-0 in these divisions, capping off their winnings with victories over Darnell Cookman, Kirby-Smith, LaVilla, and James Weldon Johnson.

6 schools survive first round of championship playoffs: 

The first championship play off round, hosted by Julia Landon, went three matches and finished as follows: Julia Landon defeating Baldwin, Twin Lakes defeating Mayport, and Oceanway defeating JEB Stuart. In the second round, Twin Lakes defeated Mandarin, and Julia Landon defeated Oceanway. For the final championship match, Twin Lakes faced Julia Landon who emerged the final winner.

Scholar Bowl is an extra curricular activity for which a student must qualify and maintain good standings in both academics and leadership skills. Congratulations go out to the following JLCP Scholar Bowl participants; M. Alesch, J. Belcher, A. Boulos, J. Cordova, E. Alesch, N. Kala, D. Boyd, E. Dobransky, H. Andrew, B. Balagopal, S. Athavale, and C. Welch. Special recognition to the two team managers, R. Cordova and E. Dobransky for their outstanding skills in organization and leadership. Congratulations to all of the Scholar Bowl participants this year!