/Bolles Phoenix Society Inducts New Members

Bolles Phoenix Society Inducts New Members

phoenix 1The Phoenix Society announced its 2014 inductees this month in a special ceremony on the Bolles Upper School San Jose Campus this spring.

Founded in 1967 by noted Bolles arts educator Arthur Carnes, the Phoenix Society is an honor society within the Bolles fine and performing arts department that recognizes juniors and seniors who excel in two or more areas of the arts. Phoenix Society candidates demonstrate a commitment to the demands of artistic vision, delight in the process of creative discovery, and show gratefulness and humility in the face of achievement.

Laura Rippel, sponsor of the Phoenix Society, led the induction of 14 new student members on May 8 in the Lynch Theater. The society also named Julie Babcock as this year’s honorary faculty inductee for her many years of special support and belief in the importance of the arts in education.

The guest speaker at the ceremony was Danielle Zentz ’13, last year’s recipient of the Arthur Carnes Phoenix Award for her involvement and leadership in the arts during her matriculation at Bolles.  Many friends, family, faculty and society members were present.

The fine and performing arts department is proud of this year’s induction class and congratulates them on their “above and beyond” accomplishments and excellence in the fine arts:

Morgan Ashurian, art and band

Lauren Bishop, band and art

Carlee Calfee, art history and theatre

Swetha Davuluri, chorus and musical theatre

Jennifer Howson, dance and art

Hannah Kobrin, theatre, art history and musical theatre

Sarah Lorbeer, dance, chorus and musical theatre

Jasmime Maina, art history and band

Leah McNeil, chorus and musical theatre

Sara Meadow, band and theatre

Zereen Sarwar, band and art history

Robyn Sutter, art and theatre

Virginia Vasquez, band and art history

Victoria Watterson, dance and art